Song for the Month of Elul

This weekend we’ll reach Rosh Chodesh Elul, the beginning of the new lunar month whose name can be read as an acronym for the phrase ani l’dodi v’dodi li – I am my Beloved’s, and my Beloved is mine. This is the month when we are invited to relate to God as the divine Beloved, to wander in the fields with God and share quiet conversation, to turn toward our Beloved again and strengthen our relationship as we move through this final month before the Days of Awe.

Just like last year, our Song for the Month of Elul will be Achat Sha’alti (One Thing I Ask), which comes from Psalm 27:

 

Achat Sha’alti (One Thing I Ask) – from psalm 127

Achat sha’alti me’eit Adonai, otah avakesh (2x)
Shivti b’veit Adonai, kol y’mei chayay
Lachazot b’noam, b’noam Yah, u’l’vaker b’heikhalo (2x)

One thing I ask, I ask of You, I earnestly pray for (2x)
That I might dwell in Your house all the days of my life
Knowing the beauty, the beauty of You, and to dwell in Your holy place! (2x)

This song is on our pre-HHD cd (which will be coming to you soon), but for now, you can listen to it here:

Or, if you can’t see the embedded audio player, you can go directly to the mp3: https://congregationbethisrael.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/achat-shaalti-psalm-27.mp3

 

May this melody be sweet in your mouth and in your heart as we approach Rosh Hashanah!

Leave a Reply

