Day 38 of the Omer

38
Tiferet b’Yesod
Compassion, Balance, Harmony within Foundation

Tonight (Monday night) we begin the day of perfect balance and harmony within the week of foundation.

Some associate yesod with the moon, since in the kabbalistic understanding, this is the sefirah (aspect of God) which reflects the light of the other sefirot into malkhut, the final sefirah (about which we’ll learn more next week.) This week I ask, how can I reflect the light of those who inspire me? How can I perfectly balance my roots and my wings?

The poet Rumi writes:

The sky was lit by the splendor of the moon,
so powerful I fell to the ground.
Your love has made me sure
I am ready to forsake this worldly life
and surrender to the magnificence of your being.

Have you ever been so moved by the moon? Can you imagine being that moved again?


As I count the Omer, let my counting create a tikkun, a healing, between transcendence and immanence, God far above and God deep within.

בָּרוּךְ אַתָּה יְיָ, אֱלֹהֵינוּ רוּחַ הַעולָם, אָשֶר קִדשָנוּ בְּמִצְוֹתָיו וְצִוָנוּ אַל סְפִירַת הַעמֶר.

Baruch atah, Adonai, eloheinu ruach ha’olam, asher kidshanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonai our God, breath of life, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

Today is thirty-eight days, which are five weeks and three days, of the Omer!

Leave a Reply

