An Evening with the Gendlers at CBI

Join us at 7pm on Friday evening, May 18, when
Rabbi Everett Gendler & Mary Gendler
will offer a presentation entitled
Teaching Shalom in the Shadow of Tibet

Rabbi Gendler, who installed the first-ever solar-powered ner tamid (eternal light) in 1978, has been described as “the father of Jewish environmentalism.” During the 1960s, he played a pivotal role in involving American Jews in the civil rights movement, leading groups of rabbis to participate in protests across the South and persuading Rabbi Abraham Joshua Heschel to participate in the famous march from Selma to Montgomery. Today Rabbi Gendler remains an eloquent Jewish advocate for the path of nonviolence. His work has taken him across the world – most notably to India where he and his wife Mary teach the principles of nonviolence to Tibetan exiles. Join us for an evening with the Gendlers.

That evening we will also honor our Take & Eat participants.
Q-and-A and dessert reception to follow.

Free and open to the public
CBI | 53 Lois Street | North Adams MA 01247
rsvp: 413-663-5830 or office@cbiweb.org

For more on Rabbi Gendler, here’s his wikipedia entry; “My Favorite Rabbis: Everett Gendler” at Shalom Rav; a 2006 post by Reb Rachel called Rabbi Gendler on Rosh Hashanah, written after he came to speak at CBI.

2 responses to “An Evening with the Gendlers at CBI

  1. Jonquil Wolfson

    What a wonderful event! I wish I could be there. If at all possible, would you please try to videotape their talk? I’d love to see and hear a recording of their discussion. I know Everett is not a fan of cameras at services, but perhaps you can convince him! Please give Everett and Mary my love, and our family’s best wishes.

    P.S. I grew up with that solar-powered Ner Tamid. I never realized it was a big deal until decades later!

    • I will see what I can do! Even if I can’t swing a video, I suspect I can record the evening as an mp3 using my cellphone, and can make that available as a podcast. I’ll keep you posted.

      And I will absolutely give them your best; I wish you could join us, too!

Leave a Reply

