Day 12 of the Omer

12
Hod b’Gevurah
Splendor / Humility within Boundaried Strength

This is the day of hod she’b’gevurah, splendor within discipline. Or maybe we should translate the Hebrew as humility within discipline, because “hod” can mean both of those things.

Consider how humility feels, and how splendor feels: can you find a way to feel both at once? To know yourself to be both humble and splendid, as you continue to engage with the disciplines of your life?

In order to exercise discipline, to have good strong boundaries for yourself and for others, a certain humility is required. Moses, who brought the mitzvot down from Sinai, was the humblest of all men. How can we emulate him today?

This is the twelfth step toward Shavuot, toward revelation, toward Sinai.


As I count the Omer, let my counting create a tikkun, a healing, between transcendence and immanence, God far above and God deep within.

בָּרוּךְ אַתָּה יְיָ, אֱלֹהֵינוּ רוּחַ הַעולָם, אָשֶר קִדשָנוּ בְּמִצְוֹתָיו וְצִוָנוּ אַל סְפִירַת הַעמֶר.

Baruch atah, Adonai, eloheinu ruach ha’olam, asher kidshanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu al sfirat ha-omer.

Blessed are You, Adonai our God, breath of life, who makes us holy with mitzvot and gives us this opportunity to count the Omer.

 

Today is twelve days, which are one week and five days, of the Omer!

One response to “Day 12 of the Omer

  1. Francisco Caravayo

    I sit here in stunned silence pondering on the beauty you’ve shared. Thank you for helping me count the Omer. This is my first time. I just completed my conversion back to Judaism. I am the descendant of Anusim Jews who were forcibly converted to Catholicism by the Inquisition in Portugal. My family kept the secret of our Jewish identity for over 500 years. Finally, to honor my ancestors, and to align my spirituality with my identity, I went before the beit din and entered the mikveh to live openly and freely as a Jew in a way my ancestors could have never imagined. My joyful transformation is made more meaningful when I have the opportunity to reflect on your writings. L’Shalom.

Leave a Reply

