Poet Merle Feld coming to CBI on Sunday, July 22!

A reminder: Jewish poet Merle Feld is coming to CBI this Sunday, July 22, to give a reading at 2pm! She will read her work in the CBI sanctuary; refreshments and a book-signing will follow.

Feld is a widely-published poet, award-winning playwright, peace activist and educator. She is the author of Finding Words, (URJ Press, 2011 — here’s Reb Rachel’s review of that collection, in Zeek magazine) and the highly acclaimed memoir, A Spiritual Life: Exploring the Heart and Jewish Tradition (SUNY Press, revised edition 2007).

Don’t miss this opportunity to hear her share her powerful work. As a foretaste of good things to come, one of her poems is enclosed below.

This program is co-sponsored by Jewish Federation of the Berkshires.

Hope to see you for an afternoon of Jewish poetry at CBI!

 

We All Stood Together

by Merle Feld

My brother and I were at Sinai
He kept a journal
of what he saw
of what he heard
of what it all meant to him

I wish I had such a record
of what happened to me there

It seems like every time I want to write
I can’t
I’m always holding a baby
one of my own
or one for a friend
always holding a baby
so my hands are never free
to write things down

And then
As time passes
the particulars
the hard data
the who what when where why
slip away from me
and all I’m left with is
the feeling

But feelings are just sounds
The vowel barking of a mute
my brother is so sure of what he heard
after all he’s got a record of it
consonant after consonant after consonant

If we remembered it together
we could recreate holy time
sparks flying

Leave a Reply

